top of page
Writer's pictureHyrum Smith

3 best ways to carry a fixed blade knife

My top three favorite ways to EDC a fixed blade knife.

fixed blade knife carried on a backpack

There are so many different ways to carry a fixed blade knife. these can change significantly depending on your day and what you intend to carry that knife for.


This post quickly covers my top three ways to give you the pros of a fixed blade while still being comfortable and practical.


1. OWB tip-down

fixed blade knife carried OWB tip-down

This one is my least favorite of the three. Outside waistband tip down is possibly the easiest to access with one hand and can be very particle while hunting, camping or fishing.


Although this one is very simple and easy to carry, for obvious reasons I done choose this way for my EDC. I don't want to walk around the store with a 12" blade on my hip.


There are a few other things to be considered that can be found here.


2. Neck carry

fixed blade knife carried on the neck

This is a common way for me to carry my blades. I often will carry knives 4" or shorter on my neck while working or out in public. keeping it under your shirt makes it look like a necklace so you don't draw attention to you.


More can be read here about using this technique as a secondary and or self-defense.


1. Pocket carry

fixed blade knife carried in the pocket

Pocket carry is by far my favorite for EDC. As seen in the photo, if a small enough knife is carried, there isn't much if a difference between this and a folding knife. you still get all the pros of a fixed blade with the comfort of a folder.


There are also a few cons to carrying this way that can be found here.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page