top of page

Why you should destroy my knives

Good strength and edge retention are what make knives so great. knowing that your knife is the strongest it can be without breaking is very good to know. So how do you know the true strength of your knife without breaking it?



I have gone through many brutal tests of my blades to find their week points and improve on them. I have broken enough knives to know the best treating process while making in order to insure that you are getting the best knife you can get.


I don't recommend you go breaking your knife on purpose. I do however recommend using the knife for any and everything you may need without worrying about hurting it. I am very confident that my knives will hold up to any regular use you put them through.



Here is a test I run often with my knives. Every once in a while I end up with a knife that I messed up in one way or another so before I hang it on my "wall of death" I through it through a strength test just to check up on my process.


A fun test is to see if I can cut through a nail by hitting the knife with a hammer as hard as I can, if it cuts through the nail with little to no edge chipping or rolling I know I have a strong knife.


I want my knives to break

Grain structure and why it matters.


Okay I wont go into too much detail here but the basics of grain structure is that a good, fine grain structure makes a knife with excellent edge retention while also allowing it to flex and return back to true in the spine. If this does not occur, you will either have a dull knife or a broken one...


This grain structure occurs during the heat treating process. I have tested so many different methods in my heat treating that I know Every blade I make is going to have the best structure I can provide.


With that being said, I always recommend pushing my blades to the limit. However, if you manage to break them, I want to know about it right away so I can learn from that, improve it and replace your broken knife.


What my customers say



This is a knife I made for someone a few years ago and this is what he has to say about it.


"I love the quality of the custom handles that you have made. The blades themselves are beautiful but the handles really made them look and feel amazing. I’ve used them for both decoration and for heavy use when camping and they have really held up. I’ve had one for 3 years (I think) and there is no damage to the handle or blade."


I love it when people are able to use a knife for so long, put it through many uses and never worry about it wearing out.


Destroy at your own risk...



With all the talk of destroying knives and trying to break them, I think it is important to mention the beauty of some of these knives. I make many knives for many different uses. Don't get me wrong, I have made some knives with the expectation that they will get destroyed and eventually probably break (steel is strong but not invincible)



Here is a knife that is just truly beautiful, I believe the customer wanted this one as a type of kitchen knife so it wasn't going to undergo much abuse.



This one however was made with the intention of being a hunting/bush craft knife so I gave it a harder wood with a smaller overall design to allow for more abuse and agility while still looking amazing.


The right knife makes all the difference


My store is always up to date with the newest knife styles and designs. You can view what I have in stock here. If you don't see what you are looking for, feel free to text me with any questions and or custom order requests.


Cell: (385) 315 - 5880


Instagram: @Bakyard_blades8


Backyard Blades






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page